Ramblings

by Joanna

Image

I recently read a quotation that resonated with me (though I haven’t actually read the book from which it was taken), because it touches on things that I have been mulling over, in less succinct words, for awhile:

“Superficiality is the curse of our age … The desperate need today is not for a greater number of intelligent people, or gifted people, but for deep people.” – Richard Foster, Celebration of Discipline

Here’s the deal: I want to develop real, personal, deep connections with those around me and with friends far away. I want to spend more time with my husband and daughter without my phone in my hand. I want to learn how to have a conversation, face to face, with a real human being (did you know I’m terribly socially awkward? I am). I want to give others the gifts of handwritten mail in their mailbox, of hospitality and of time spent listening and generally being together. I want each and every moment of my days to be spent wisely, prudently, and in such a way that they really matter. Simply put, I want to deepen as an individual, to deepen my character and faith and relationships. 

It doesn’t take a dummy to figure out that a major stumbling block to accomplishing all this is social media. I killed my Facebook account for several weeks before the new year, and you know what? I loved not having it. I have no idea why I chose to open a new account, I keep kicking myself for doing so. Obviously I’m on the brink of getting back off! I also keep telling myself that I am going to end this blog and then I just keep popping back in. This may continue for awhile as it will probably take some trial and error before I figure out which of the social media sites are my personal superficiality and which aren’t. So please bear with me as I sort this all out. 

