the newness of it all.

by Joanna

ks

Happy new year! 2013 is looking to be a big year for us, as we are so (so so so so SO) happy to announce that by the end of this week, we will, Lord willing, be unpacking in our new home in Kansas. We have spent the last two weeks knee deep in stuff – piles of stuff for donation, piles of stuff for the trash bins, piles of stuff to try to cram into the small place we will be renting for the next year or so – and now it’s all sorted out and the house is emptied of our belongings.

You probably know that I have never really warmed up to Austin. I didn’t even try to hide my disdain for it at first and after the first six months of living here, when I did begin trying, I probably failed miserably in hiding it. I mean, sure, there are hills, but they’re full of scrubby trees and cacti and other plants that are “built” to withstand the harshest of environments. There are the differing levels of summer lasting most of the year. Tarantulas meandering down the road and up the side of our house. Scorpions on our floor and on our couch and in our baby’s pack and play. Millions of insanely bad drivers willing (eager!) to risk their lives and yours every time you leave the house. I guess I’m just not tough enough to live here and I really don’t want to be.

And yet. This is the city John has called home for a large portion of his life. It is here that we spent our first two years of marriage and gave birth to our firstborn. For that, it will always be special to me. We will miss the fantastic food. Some lovely folks who truly poured out an abundance of love for Elsie. And, I must admit, I expect the Kansas landscape to seem a bit dull to us after all these hills.

On the other hand, what we are gaining is infinitely more valuable to us. A good, decent place to raise our family. Neighborhoods that are nifty AND safe AND family-friendly AND affordable. Four seasons. Museums and parks and good zoos. A wonderful church family to work and learn and grow with. A city large enough to have, say, a Whole Foods coming to town next year, and small enough that we aren’t stuck in the car all day. A support system close by. And, go ahead and call us prudes, but we are eager for less of a chance that we and our child will see something inappropriate whenever we are driving around town (I’m talking to YOU, lady who was stripping down to your undergarments on a public street!). Really, I could go on and on, but in short, after much thought and prayer and researching several different places, John made his choice. And I’m not complaining! 🙂 I am so incredibly grateful to have married a man who prayerfully seeks after the physical AND spiritual welfare of his family.

So. Keep well and safe and hopefully the next time I post here it will be from and about our new place on the earth.

