thankful.

by Joanna

 

One year ago last month I shot a wedding for an acquaintance (a thing which I will never do again, but that’s another story. :)). The knowledge of my pregnancy was two days old and I was so, so sick from lack of food. My body’s reaction wasn’t a complete surprise; two days prior, I had nearly passed out on another friend’s kitchen floor, so we didn’t have extremely high expectations for how the wedding day would go for me. The remainder of the first trimester and beginning of the second went much like that, with a lot of miserable, sick days. BUT, after that? I loved being pregnant. Flat out loved  it. I wasn’t one of those women who hit the third trimester and wanted the baby out. right. now. I might’ve even blurted out to some other women that I could happily be pregnant forever. Looking back, I’m sure they went home and laughed heartily over it.

Anyway.

I say all that to say, one day last week I found myself, for the first time since Elsie’s arrival, and brought on by absolutely nothing in particular, with an enormously thankful heart for not being pregnant anymore. Strange, no, that it took four months for that to sink in?

What are you thankful for these days?

