preparing for a daughter in a (very, very) pink world.

by Joanna

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

I’m just going to say it: I’m not a fan of the color pink. I don’t mind it in the kaleidoscope of the color wheel, but have you been into the young girls’ section of any store recently? It’s a pink, pink zoo out there, and it’s actually quite nauseating. I wonder when pink became the only color option for little girls. It’s not a problem that is limited to clothes, either. It extends into every realm of the child’s existence. You need a bib? Well, your choices are blue and green, labelled “BOY!” or pink and more pink (with purple hearts this time!) labelled “GIRL!” Trying to decide on just the basic necessities (car seats, for instance) and such has been an intensely painful process for us. I know that in the grand scheme of things, it really doesn’t matter what color my child is surrounded by, and my main focus is to be on training her up to be godly and of good character, but come on – isn’t parenting difficult enough without having to look at so much pink?

Please pardon my little rant. Things really aren’t looking that gloomy for this little baby – at least in the clothes department – thanks to the thrifting I’ve been doing. Aren’t there some dandies up there? I tell you what, they just don’t make things like they used to! A couple of those sweet little things were originally intended for the shop, until we discovered we were expecting, at which point I snatched them back for myself. Most, however, came from my favorite thrift store in Wichita. We really hit the jackpot on vintage girls’ wear on our last trip up! And to prove to you that I’m not totally opposed to every pink thing, here’s another super cute dress of pink candy stripe:

Image

What’s your opinion on the color pink?

