roseboroughing: simple and sweet.

by Joanna

John and I had very little time or budget to plan a big wedding, although admittedly the time issue we forced on ourselves, as neither of us wanted a long engagement. However, we both had a certain aesthetic that we were not willing to give up. Our solution was to simplify, simplify, simplify, and to throw everything we had into the few details we did ultimately choose to include. It became a family-only event, with the wedding and reception both held in the same room – an old building at the Old Cowtown Musem in Wichita. Old, old old! is what I love, so old was the theme! I meant to get pictures of our invitation, because we were both especially proud of that collaboration, but alas…it’s not the first of things to have slipped my mind over the last few months!
One hundred assorted Ranunculas, ordered online and shipped from South America, filled mine and my sister’s bouquets and the men’s buttonholes, as well as the bud vases on each table. I cross-stitched the “R” pendants that were tied around the vases.

Talented friends and family made my dress and Julia’s dress and jacket. Most everything else clothing-wise, right down to the ties the guys wore, was true vintage, being either borrowed or found in vintage shops, thrift stores, eBay or Etsy.

Vintage-style hankies, purchased on Etsy, were used for pretty much everything! Hanky bunting was the main decoration, which we swagged around the food tables, on the backs of the last row of chairs, and on the stage. Single hankies were set under the pies on the dessert table and under the vases in the middle of each table. The favors doubled as the bride and groom “send-offs” – guests waved hankies and rang antique sleigh bells at us as we drove off. As an added bonus, I plan to make a quilt from all those wedding hankies!

John found this wonderful local band who performed the music for the wedding and much of the reception. They even brought instruments for the kids to play, and played and sang with them while pictures were being taken in the time between the ceremony and reception. We were SO thrilled with their work!

Because this was a winter wedding in Kansas, I knew the kids would most likely be stuck inside during the reception, getting restless and  bored. So I got simple felt animal masks off of Etsy, and old-fashioned candy for the dessert table.

From the beginning I knew I absolutely wanted to do this: serve the guests on mismatched sets of china. For months I scoured thrift shops and antique stores, looking for pieces that not only met certain aesthetic criteria, but that also fell into a certain price range (or, cheap!). With the help of a few friends, I also cut and hemmed linen napkins. I even made the napkin rings, using ribbon and vintage buttons.

Mom, Julia and I spent the few days before the wedding making all of the food…including 10  pies of various flavors. No wedding cake for this girl! Confession: I chose to have apple pie as one of the options just so there would be a double crust pie (all the others were meringue pies) and I could have an excuse to include those little pie birds at the table.

So there you have it! That’s pretty much the wedding and how it came about. It was definitely a labor of love, and at times left me thinking I was very nearly losing my sanity!

But, of course, it was all worth it in the end!

P.S. Our amazingly talented friend, Lori, took nearly all of these photos!

P.P.S. The pictures Lori didn’t take were shot by another inspiring lady called my cousin!

